Uncategorized

Today I got sh*t done!

IMG_1317Ever have one of those days where you make every second count , be really productive and get loads done?  Today I did, it felt amazing!

Unfortunately these don’t happen everyday……..yet! Now I have found my passion for training again I know I’ll be much more productive with my time. Not sure why this is as it’s adding something extra to most days but it works! Maybe the excitement of some ‘me’ time where I can block out the world and completely exhaust my self gets me moving.

What I did today……

Firstly I got my 3 little people, up, dressed, fed, washed and off the school before 9, as well as making lunches, putting a wash on and washing up. This alone is an achievement most days. I had a trip to Hertford to make so whilst sitting in the morning traffic I even utilised my time by listening to my audio book!

As well as loads of house work and mummy jobs that no one knows you do until you don’t do them I planned the family dinners for the rest of the week. I will be eating different as they all eat meat. I will be doing lots of batch cooking tonight and tomorrow so I have lots of healthy meals ready prepared. This stops me from getting hungry and making bad food choices. When deciding what to cook I had a little stalk of my favourite instagram page 😍

IMG_1318

Whilst eating my lunch 😍 vegetable burgers, sweet potato fries and salad. I don’t weigh my food anymore, I eat when I know I’m about to get hungry and just make sure it’s clean, healthy food.

Emily’s instagram page Hullzey has great meal ideas, all super healthy and vegan. You could easily add a meat of choice if you wish. I have loads of batch cooking recipes I love from Emily’s page, you can see her instagram here 👇

https://www.instagram.com/hullzey/

Once my crazy afternoon of returning items to the shop, food shopping and school runs had finished Colin was home to take over. This means gym time 🎉  I have started going to the same gym as my mum, A basic gym where no one knows me and I can just get on. The idea was I could help my mum train as she has reached a plateau but we are yet to train.

So today was leg day, my favourite!

I always start off on the treadmill to warmup. Slowly increasing the speed and gradient, the higher the treadmill the more I can feel it in my glutes. I usually stay on here for 10/15 minutes but after 5 minutes I got impatient and wanted to go start, also the smith machine was free and I didn’t want to risk someone else taking it 😂

Stretching out I do a few lunges and hold the position to get a really good stretch. I get all excited when I start training and think about all the moves I want to do, as I needed to get back for work I was rushing round the gym like a crazy lady, I always feel I get a better workout when I’m on a time limit. Not allowing any time to stop and think about how much the work out is hurting I’m just concentrating on getting the sets done so I can move on to the next bit. I don’t like to rest for long in between sets as I want to keep the blood in the muscles I’m working, ready to fill it up more with the next set. This is the pain we all crave when training, ‘the pump’. I don’t always get a painful pump when I train only in my calves and biceps, I can feel when my other muscles are ‘pumped’ but not to the skin ripping feeling. If you haven’t felt like this before when training then your probably wandering what I’m going on about. I will list what I did, how many reps and sets, I may of made some of these names up so if your unsure what I mean then please ask.

  • Super set curtsies lunges 3 sets of 10, reverse lunges 3 sets of 10 (smith machine)
  • stiff legged deadlifts, 3 sets of 10, upping the weight each set (smith machine)
  • Single leg, stiff legged deadlifts 3 sets of 10 (smith machine)
  • Leg press, 3 sets of 10, upping the weight each time, last set was a drop set
  • Super set cable hip trusts & cable squat, 3 sets of 10
  • Bulgarian split squats, 3 sets of 10 each leg
  • Giant set (mat) Kick back, knee out to the side and hip trusts. 3 sets of 10, using a weight with the hip trusts. On the last rep of hip trusts holding it for 10 secs at the top.
  • Single leg hip thrusts, laying on the mat with one leg pointing to the sky and one on the step, swapping legs straight after each set with no rest, 10 reps, 8, 6, 4, 2, making sure I squeeze at the top
  • Finishes with 20 minutes on the treadmill at an incline

It doesn’t seem like a lot now I have written it but I was a sweaty mess and my legs hurt walking down the gym stairs, who puts a gym upstairs anyway?! Back home for a banana and protein shake! I am hoping to get to the gym tomorrow and will probably train shoulders and abs but will see. I won’t beat my self up if I don’t get to go like I used too, I doesn’t hurt having a day off. 😂😂😂😂 I’m lying I will be extremely grumpy if I don’t get to the gym tomorrow! We will see.

Leave a Reply

