Uncategorized

Back Day πŸ’ͺ🏼

After dying on the sofa for a week and feeling like I’d never get to train again I finally made it to the gym Β πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

Above are pictures of my back from last year! These pictures keep me motivated to get my muscles back, o how I miss feeling so strong! I was in a great routine with my training and diet last year, I loved it. I was training to get into shape for a promotional event myself and my husband were involved in. Literally minutes once it was over I was in costa eating biscuits, not even caring I’d gone 5 months without sugar! I slowly undone all my hard work over the course of the following months. Feeling more and more sorry for myself I’d eat even more crap and work slowly took over my life, the gym became a once a week thing instead of five times. My strength lessened also making me feel even more sorry for my self and instead of pulling my self together I ate more crap, trained less and even moaned about feeling, and looking, so rubbish. This carried on for year 😳

Β My back after today’s work out! You can see I’m not as ‘thick’ as I was last year but I do still have a little bit of muscle. Muscle memory is an amazing thing and I’m pinning all my hopes on this, I am hoping that being back to training and eating clean I can put my muscle mass back on a lot easier. There is only one way to find out!

I like to split my training in to muscles groups,

  • Hamstrings & glutes
  • Back & biceps
  • Shoulders & abs
  • Quads & calfs
  • Chest & triceps

I tend to train what I feel like on the day but always stick to these. Today I fancied back and biceps! Nothing makes me more happy then having Rob Bailey playing in my head phones, blocking out the world and smashing my back to peices. I feel strong in my back so makes me feel good throwing weights around, especially when your the only girl in the weights area and the little men are looking at me like I’m nuts πŸ˜‚ the gym I was in today did make me laugh! Although I’m sure the laugh was on me when I tried to take a cheeky selfie in the mirror thinking no one was looking and the flash went off!

What I did –

I alway like to start off on the lateral pull down, I can do a few sets on a very light weight to get the blood pumping and the muscles warm. In between these I stretch out my lats by holding on to the machine and leaning back. Once I was warmed up I completed the following –

  • Lateral pull down, 20 reps, 15 reps, 12 reps, 10 reps (bit of Kia Greene!) upping the weight with each set
  • Single arm DB rows, 3 sets of 10, upping the weight with each set
  • Straight arm pull down on cable, Β 4 sets of 10, upping the weight super set withΒ 
  • Low pulley cable row, 4 sets of 10 upping the weight
  • Cable face pulls, 4 sets of 10 upping the weight
  • Deadlifts, 3 sets of 10 upping the weight
  • Cable bicep curl, 3 sets to fail
  • DB hammer curl super set withΒ 
  • Ez bar, close grip curl, 3 sets 10, last set to failure

Felt ruined after this! I haven’t trained properly for a while so completely wiped me out, I love that feeling! Totally de stressed. Home to a protein shake and Β banana 🍌

I will be planning the meals for the rest of the week and getting some batch cooking done tomorrow. Batch cooking saved me last week, being able to take the portions out of the freezer first thing made sure I still got heathy food in me. Need to restock now though.

Hoping to get to the gym tomorrow for glutes and hamstrings πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

Leave a Reply

